Week 7: Activity

Portrait Photography

For this weeks self portrait activity, I wanted to take the opportunity to try out some more 3D printed lithophanes. I took it a step further and created a frame out of construction paper and inserted some colored LEDs to create some interesting color blending. I finally got the exposure on the photos down to a science. It has to be just right in order to make sure the details of the image are visible while still dissipating the light from the LED enough so the image was lit evenly.

My friend had a bunch of different colored LEDs from a previous project so I tried them all out. I really liked the white and yellow LEDs. When I placed both of them behind the lithophane, it created a sepia tone effect.

unnamed

For more info on the creating of the lithophanes, see my post on the topic.

Leave a Reply

