Week 6: Activity

Yarn IMG_5105

I bought a 0.625″ x 5.5″ x 72″ redwood fence plank for $1.78 and a box of 350 white 1″ long nails for $2.37. The yarn I found at home. I cut two 5.5″ long pieces of wood as well as a couple smaller pieces with a circular saw. I cleaned up some of the rough edges with a knife and nailed the frame together.

IMG_5108

I printed out an outline of California and centered it on the wooden frame. I did my best to space the nails by about one centimeter. For the straight edges, I actually measured it out so that they would be spaced evenly, but for the rest, I just did it by eye. Once all of the nails were in, I ripped off the paper template.

IMG_5097

I tried running the yarn on the inside of the outline, but I didn’t like all of the bare wood, so I added a square boarder of nails around the perimeter of the frame.

IMG_5098

I tried running the yarn in parallel lines, but because there was a different number of nails on the perimeter and the Californian boarder, it wouldn’t have come out perfectly. This tiny hammer worked better for these tiny nails.

IMG_5100

Here’s an Instagram pic my sister took with me in the background.

IMG_5101

Last week, I also went to check out what some of the fiber art students were creating. I liked the depth of this piece. It brings a whole new dimension to textiles.

IMG_5084

Leave a Reply

